Constituent Services
Congressman Higgins Announces Federal Grant For South Line Fire District
December 6, 2006

          Today, Congressman Brian Higgins (NY-27) announced South Line Fire District #10 will receive $33,250 in federal Homeland Security funding in the eighth round of Assistance to Firefighters Grants Program (AFGP) awards for fiscal year 2006. 


            “Every day our volunteer firefighters work selflessly to protect the neighborhoods they serve,” said Congressman Higgins.  “This grant provides resources that provide our dedicated first responders with the tools necessary to keep them and our community safe.”            


South Line Fire District, located on French Road in the Town of Cheektowaga, was awarded this grant under the Operations and Firefighter Safety Program, which is dedicated to funding training, equipment, personal protective equipment, wellness and fitness, and modifications to fire stations and facilities.


            In March of 2005, Congressman Higgins’ office held a fire grant workshop at the Hamburg Volunteer Fire Department, where assistance was given to local fire departments in completing grant applications for this funding.  On February 22, 2006 Congressman Higgins again hosted grant workshops in the Cities of Buffalo and Jamestown. 


            The 2006 program, which Congress appropriated, and President Bush signed into law, includes $485 million in direct assistance to firefighters to improve the effectiveness of firefighting operations, firefighter health and safety programs, and to establish or expand fire prevention programs throughout the United States.  The Department of Homeland Security’s Office of State and Local Government Coordination and Preparedness (SLGCP) administers the program, in cooperation with the U.S. Fire Administration.


            For more information about the grant program please contact Congressman Higgins’ office at 852-3501. 


Washington, DC Office
431 Cannon HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202-225-3306
Fax: 202-226-0347

Erie County Office
Larkin at Exchange
726 Exchange Street
Suite 601
Buffalo, NY 14210
Phone: 716-852-3501
Fax: 716-852-3929
Chautauqua County Office
Fenton Building
2 East Second Street
Suite 300
Jamestown, NY 14701
Phone: 716-484-0729
Fax: 716-484-1049