Constituent Services
Congressman Higgins Announces $177,341 for Fire Departments in Farnham, Blasdell, Sloan & Concord
October 26, 2005
 Today, Congressman Brian Higgins (NY-27) announced Farnahm Fire Department, Blasdell Fire Department, East Concord Fire Department and Sloan Active Hose No. 1 will receive a combined total of $177,341 in funding in the 9th round of Assistance to Firefighters Grants Program (AFGP) for fiscal year 2005. 
“These grants to local fire companies provide our first responders, the selfless men and women, who put their lives on the line to save others, with the resources they need to best serve our communities,” said Congressman Higgins. 
Farnham Fire Department was granted $15,675, $76,104 will go to the Blasdell Fire Department, Sloan Active Hose No. 1 will receive $56,715 and $28,847 was granted to East Concord Fire Department, Inc.  All four agencies were awarded grants under the Operations and Firefighter Safety Program, which is dedicated to funding training, equipment, personal protective equipment, wellness and fitness, and modifications to fire stations and facilities.
 In March of this year, Congressman Higgins’ office held a fire grant workshop at the Hamburg Volunteer Fire Department, where assistance was given to local fire departments in completing grant applications for this AFGP funding.
The 2005 program, which Congress appropriated, and President Bush signed into law, includes $650 million in direct assistance to firefighters to improve the effectiveness of firefighting operations, firefighter health and safety programs, and to establish or expand fire prevention programs throughout the United States. The Department of Homeland Security’s Office of State and Local Government Coordination and Preparedness (SLGCP) administers the program, in cooperation with the U.S. Fire Administration.
 For more information about the grant program please contact Congressman Higgins’ office at 852-3501.

Washington, DC Office
431 Cannon HOB
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202-225-3306
Fax: 202-226-0347

Erie County Office
Larkin at Exchange
726 Exchange Street
Suite 601
Buffalo, NY 14210
Phone: 716-852-3501
Fax: 716-852-3929
Chautauqua County Office
Fenton Building
2 East Second Street
Suite 300
Jamestown, NY 14701
Phone: 716-484-0729
Fax: 716-484-1049