Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Higgins Announces Aid Available For Area Farmers

Jun 16, 2009
Press Release

Congressman Brian Higgins (NY-27) announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture is making disaster assistance available to farms in Chautauqua, Erie, Cattaraugus, Alleghany and Wyoming counties.  Farm Service Agency (FSA) Emergency Loans and Supplemental Revenue Assistance payments may be granted to eligible farm operators who experienced severe losses based on excessive snowfall occurring from December 10, 2008 through March 11, 2009.

“Agriculture is a multi-billion dollar industry in New York and when disaster strikes agriculture businesses, consumers and the regional economy take a hit,” said Congressman Higgins.  “This assistance will help keep the farming industry strong and growing in Western New York.”  

Under the Emergency Loan program, producers can borrow up to 100 percent of actual production or physical losses, up to $500,000, at an annual interest rate of 3.75 percent. 

The Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payment (SURE) Program was a provision in the 2008 Farm Bill that provides benefits for farm revenue losses due to a natural disaster.  Additional information on the SURE program including an estimated payment calculator is available by clicking on the “View Farm Bill Information” link on the FSA website at: 

For additional information contact your local Farm Service Agency Office.  To contact the Erie County office call (716) 652-1400.  In Chautauqua County dial (716) 664-2351.